• cappellano
  • usalpini
     On Amazon website is available the second edition of a guide to WWII sites in Italy was published. It includes a chapter about battlegrounds and monuments to the 10th Mountain Division and Brazilian forces in the Apennines.
       The museum contributed to this chapter by giving its author, Anne L. Saunders, a tour of selected local sites.
      A Travel Guide to World War II Sites in Italy (2nd edition) has twenty chapters and describes almost 200 locations, beginning in Sicily and ending at Trieste. It has its own website and on Amazon you can see a preview of the book

Happy Holidays

cartolina 2017en

Gothic Line bloody red



1945. Photos and memories of US 10th Mountain Division
in Italy

By Andrea and Giuliano Gandolfi


     The spirit of this book, ten years after the previous publication In My Father’s Foxholes and Footsteps, focusing on the memories and photographs of Cruz Rios, soldier in the K Company of the 87th Regiment of the US 10th Mountain Division in 1943/1945, follows the same motivations.
      Gothic Line Bloody Red takes life from another collection of color photographs crossed the atlantic Ocean thanks to Stephanie, wife of William Ferguson in force, in 1945, to the medical detachment of 2nd Battalion, 86th Regiment which allowed us to use them for this book, and Val Rios.

Museal system


The museum entrance

    The MUSEAL SYSTEM of Iola Montese was founded in 2011 and consists of a series of collections, of approximately 4,000 objects, which are exhibited over 16 rooms with a total area of about 600 sqm. Additionally, there are itineraries through the battlefields where Allied and German soldiers fought during the months between late 1944 and early 1945 on the last line of defence of the Green Line better know as the Gothic Line.

     The museum, recognized MUSEUM OF QUALITY by the Institute of Artistic Heritage Cultural and Natural Heritage of the Emilia Romagna Region, overlooking the square of the village, which is located about 920 meters above sea level, beside to the church built in 1630's. The hospitality is guaranteed by large parking area and nearby restaurants, one of which is reached by a short walk.

Memories logo     The collections MEMOIRS OF ITALY are dedicated, since its establishment in 2003, to the World War II period and consist of five rooms devoted to the armies that fought in the areas adjacent the hill town of Iola between last months of 1944 until the end of war in Italy: Wehrmacht Heer, 232nd Infantry Division and the 114th Jager - U.S. 10th Mountain Division - BEF, Brasilian Expeditionary Force and the Royal Italian Army.

10th Alpines     All items, collected by typology, represent what was available to soldiers on the front line. On display there are uniforms, decorations, badges, weapons, everyday objects, medical first aid and various type of clothing and accessories. The collections, which highlight the technical features and quality of the equipment available until the first line of battle, aim to understand the logistic organization behind the fighters on the various battlefields in accordance with the axiom that wars are won by the army with the men more motivated and the better logistics organization. The museum was officially recognized by the 10th Mountain Division Descendants who organizes, every three years, the return on the battlefields of the Tuscan-Emilian Apennine. The next tour is scheduled on June and will be an important event by resorting the 70th anniversary of the 5th Army battle that, in this area, led the breakthrough of the German defenses by 10th Mountain Division soldiers. The Brazilians soldiers, after the conquest of Monte Castello and Montese, replaced the Americans in the backline. In the rooms devoted to the history of our country there are also books, report cards and school objects of the prewar period.

Make a Donation

 The activities of the museum relies on volunteers and donations.
Your donation can help us so the new and future generations can learn from their past.


        Link all'accreditamento dell'Associazione discendenti della 10a Divisione da Montagna


Questo sito utilizza i cookie. Se vuoi saperne di più clicca qui.
Chiudendo questo banner, scorrendo questa pagina o cliccando qualunque suo elemento acconsenti all’uso dei cookie.